Audiobook Adventure

Photo from Audible.com

Steve Nelson: husband, father, voice actor…dragon?

My foray into audiobook narration is now complete with the release of To Tame a Dragon by Tiffany Roberts, narrated by moi.

The journey was a long one, not gonna lie. I discovered much about the audiobook world; about its challenges and rewards; about my own abilities and limitations–taking listeners on an audial journey is more than just reading words on a page, it turns out. And then there’s the editing…so much editing. Many late nights I could be found at my desk, staring at my monitor, eyes glassy, a tear or two of agony trickling down my cheek. But alas, it is done. And much like the joy of childbirth wiping from the mother’s memory the pain preceding it, I am already looking forward to my next one.

It was a true family effort, too. While I was sequestered in my booth pursuing my dream, my wife spent just about every free moment between getting lunches ready, working, and shuttling the kids to practices listening to my takes and providing feedback. Feedback that only a spouse can provide, ya know? A…constructive criticism, which I totally always appreciate–criticism I definitely never took personally due to my super thick skin and rock solid confidence. Anyway, I’m grateful for her, is what I’m saying.

NSFW admonition: while there isn’t much swearing, this romance novel is hot and steamy in parts, so I would recommend listening to it with your earbuds in…while the children are at a friend’s house…for a sleepover…just to be safe.

Happy listening.

Leave a comment